For I know the plans I have for you….

One of our children asked me Sunday night, if I thought that a sincere prayer request of his (and really of our whole family) would be answered in the way that we hoped. The circumstances surrounding this situation seem fairly dire, however there have been some hopeful signs that what we all wish would happen might. As a mother, I wanted to reassure him and tell him that everything would be fine, and that all would end up just as we prayed it would, however, my duty as a mother and a Believer required me to be honest with my son.

I told him that I honestly believe that the Lord will answer our prayers and the prayers of others concerning this. Does that mean that I believe everything is going to go the way that we all think it should? No, but I certainly hope it does.

Over the years, my prayers have changed drastically. As a young Christian (and admittedly even sometimes now) I have been guilty of thinking and analyzing a thing so thoroughly that by the time I sincerely prayed about it (even repeatedly), I basically was telling the Lord how to solve the problems and concerns of myself and others – all the while worrying and fretting and wringing my hands. Now, I have become more cognizant of the sweet truth of Jeremiah 29:11-13 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” I now try to remember to pray that my prayers are in accordance with His perfect will. I try to remember that His ways are higher than my ways. His solutions much better than mine. I try to remember that so many times in my life when things seemed to go really badly that as time went on, I saw how what we often think of as “unanswered prayers” many times became my biggest blessings.

It is hard for me to understand how a person apart from the Lord Jesus has any hope in this world at all. I cannot see how they could have a moment’s peace trusting in themselves, or their careers, or their money, or their health, or their goodness. We’ve all seen those things come crashing down time after time for person after person. Only a personal relationship with Jesus will ensure that everything will truly be okay, in fact, not just okay but PERFECT!

We are taught through Scripture to ”come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need. (Hebrews 4:16)” and to “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)”

Our God is All-mighty, All-knowing, Ever-present, and best of all He loves us! He loves us SO much that “He sent His only begotten Son” to take our sins upon Himself and die for us in order to save us so that we can spend eternity with Him, justified, sanctified and finally glorified! His Grace is sufficient! With Him, nothing is impossible! The Lord Jesus intercedes on our behalf! His blood has washed us white as snow! We are MORE THAN CONQUERORS! We have the precious promises and assurances through His Word and the Holy Spirit that our steps are ordered, and for us Believers who have trusted Jesus, EVERYTHING IS GOING TO BE FINE! Thank Him graciously, (even in advance) for answering our prayers!!

Philippians 4:6-7 New International Version (NIV)
6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

