Victory in Jesus!

Victory in JesusAs is often the case, the lyrics to songs often really get me to thinking about things. Today it was “Victory in Jesus.” Lately, we have all been inundated with bad news, conflicting opinions, and for many Christians, I feel we have all felt a little beaten down by this bad world from time to time.

There are so many controversies and atrocities. We see them each time we watch the news. We read about them in newspapers, magazines and online. Just this past week or so we have seen mass murder in military recruiting stations and theaters – discussions of marketing aborted baby body parts while the speakers casually ate salad and drank wine – and we know that our government is pursuing negotiations with countries that imprison and persecute Christians without much regard for whether those negotiations will result in their release. Our Facebook feeds have been filled with conflicts over flags, politics and other controversies.

The more I think about this old world, it is absolutely wonderful to know that “our citizenship is in heaven” (Philippians 3:20(a) NIV) and our victory is in Jesus! All Believers can rest secure in the knowledge that the Lord Jesus willingly lay down His precious, sinless life and took upon Himself our vile sins and those of the whole world for all time – so that, though, we are all unworthy, we can stand before God as though we had never sinned. Our Jesus was ridiculed, beaten and crucified in our place and on our behalf so that we could live eternally with Him. Even more than that, the grave could not hold Him, He conquered death (for us all) and is alive forevermore! How wonderful is that??? This world and the enemy has NO AUTHORITY WHATSOEVER over the children of God. That should give us all something to rejoice over and to sing about! All of this world’s chaos and madness is temporary, not even a drop in the bucket of eternity. Don’t let it get you down… use it to soar to new heights of worship and praise!

If you are not a Christian and you want to know the Love of Christ and His “peace which passeth all understanding” Call out to the Him today… not just to be your Savior, but to be the Lord of your life. He is faithful. He loves us. Trust in Him today.

He will swallow up death in victory; and the Lord God will wipe away tears from off all faces; and the rebuke of His people shall he take away from off all the earth: for the Lord hath spoken it. Isaiah 25:8

O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory? The sting of death is sin; and the strength of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye steadfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord. 1 Corinthians 15:55-58

Victory in Jesus

Words and Music by E.M. Bartlett
© 1939

I heard an old, old story,
How a Savior came from glory,
How He gave His life on Calvary
To save a wretch like me;
I heard about His groaning,
Of His precious blood’s atoning,
Then I repented of my sins
And won the victory. 

O victory in Jesus,
My Savior, forever.
He sought me and bought me
With His redeeming blood;
He loved me ere I knew Him
And all my love is due Him,
He plunged me to victory,
Beneath the cleansing flood. 

I heard about His healing,
Of His cleansing pow’r revealing.
How He made the lame to walk again
And caused the blind to see;
And then I cried, “Dear Jesus,
Come and heal my broken spirit,”
And somehow Jesus came and bro’t
To me the victory. 

O victory in Jesus,
My Savior, forever.
He sought me and bought me
With His redeeming blood;
He loved me ere I knew Him
And all my love is due Him,
He plunged me to victory,
Beneath the cleansing flood. 

I heard about a mansion
He has built for me in glory.
And I heard about the streets of gold
Beyond the crystal sea;
About the angels singing,
And the old redemption story,
And some sweet day I’ll sing up there
The song of victory. 

O victory in Jesus,
My Savior, forever.
He sought me and bought me
With His redeeming blood;
He loved me ere I knew Him
And all my love is due Him,
He plunged me to victory,
Beneath the cleansing flood.

2 thoughts on “Victory in Jesus!

  1. Ah yes I remember this powerful song is a new convert by saying it many times even saying it at a friend’s mom’s funeral one time. The words of the songs are the testimony of another person and the word of God tells us in Revelation 12:11 that the word of Our Testimony and the blood of the lamb and we love not our life on the deck dot-dot-dot how powerful are testimonies are. Thank you for this great exhortation.
    May the spirit of the Living God continue to inspire you to speak into the lives of others as He has spoken into yours.

    Keep your eyes on Jesus he is the author and the finisher of your faith Hebrews 12 verse 2 God bless and keep you safe in his care. May his correction Direction and protection be your daily portion.🙏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment