But Seek Ye First

eye on the sparrowThe Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you. Genesis 12:1

Several things have happened lately that made me think about Abram (later Abraham.) The calling of Abram has always fascinated me. I always think about how open-ended the Lord’s instructions to him must have seemed. He was basically told by the LORD to pack up, leave his home and go to a place that he would be shown. What a faithful man!

Every day, I plan and plot my course to make it home. I think about my destinations for the day early in the morning before I ever leave home – whether I’ll need gas or groceries, etc. For instance, after leaving home, I plan to arrive at the school to drop the boys off, then I know that my next destination is work, usually at lunch I arrive at my daddy’s house for lunch, next I go get gas for the car if I need it, head back to the school to pick the boys up, sometimes a trip to the grocery store is necessary, then back home. Sometimes I leave again for church or other engagements. Normally speaking, though, I think I know where I’m going and what I’ll be doing before I ever leave.

Lately, I have begun to realize that often times we get so comfortable thinking that we are in control of things, that we don’t even know we’re doing it. I think about the passage in James 4:13-17 where James cautions us not to boast in our own plans for tomorrow, or next year or whatever. Rather we should seek that our plans are in accordance with the Lord’s will.

So, back to Abram/Abraham, he was content just following the Lord’s instructions one step at the time. He didn’t say, “Well, Lord, are You sure? I’m doing pretty well right now, and it sounds a little irresponsible for me to just pack up and leave everything here. I mean, I don’t even know where You’re sending me. Sarai/Sarah is going to think I have lost my mind. All my kinfolks will say I’m crazy. Can’t You just give me a little heads up about all of this? I mean, I want to do what You want me to… but I need a little more information first.” I have found that there have been times when I felt a calling to do something, and lots of times, it didn’t really make much sense to me… I just knew that it was what He wanted me to do. Some things were big, some were small. Some times I was obedient. Some times I wasn’t. Oh, but I wish I had always been. You see, there is nothing that we can do or not do that will stop the plans of our God. What a blessing it would be, though, to always be obedient and just do what Abraham did… pack up and go.

Of course, I used to think, how much easier it would be for all of us if the Lord just audibly spoke to us like we read about Him doing back then. He told Abram that He would bless him immensely. Most of us think that if we got a message like that, we would snap-to just like he did. What we don’t often consider, though, is that the Lord DOES still speak to his people. Abraham didn’t have a Bible sitting on his bedside table. We DO! God speaks to us through His Word, through the Holy Spirit, during prayer and even through other people and situations. When we stay in His Word, and fellowship with Him, we become better able to discern things. But, as for His telling Abraham how He would bless him and his descendants, well He has already given us promises of immeasurable blessings for us. Once we have received Jesus as our Lord and Savior, all we have to do is study His Word, talk to Him, and learn to trust in all things. Our blessings and our Lord’s promises are right there for us to read and to study. We are blessed to have instructions as to how to please Him.

We don’t have to fret and worry and wring or hands wondering what will happen if we follow His leading. We know that whatever it is – it is for our good and for the furtherance of His Kingdom. We don’t have to understand how it is going to work, because, praise God, He has already mapped it out for us. His ways are higher than our ways. He is wise. He is righteousness. He is just, and He loves us. Trust Him always.

25 Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?

26 Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?

27 Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature?

28 And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:

29 And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

30 Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?

31 Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?

32 (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.

33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

Matthew 6:25-34 KJV

Leave a Reply

