I Will Lift Up Mine Eyes….

desktop-bible-verse-isaiah-free-christian1 I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

2 My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.

3 He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.

4 Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.

5 The Lord is thy keeper: the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand.

6 The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.

7 The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.

8 The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore. Psalm 121:1-8 KJV

No doubt about it, Psalm 121 is one of my favorites. The boys were asking me one day which Bible verse is my favorite. I told them that I really love them all. Among some of my New Testament favorites are: 1 Corinthians 13:13, Philippians 4:13, John 3:16, Psalm 116:15, John 1:29, John 1:14, Revelation 22:20, Revelation 21:4, Luke 2:19, James 1:17, Ephesians 6:10, 1 Timothy 1:15. There are many more in both the Old and New Testaments, this list could go on and on, so I guess I’ll talk about Psalm 121 and save the others for another time.

I think the reason the 121st Psalm really speaks to my heart is because not only is it a promise of what the Lord will do for us, it also reminds me of all that He has done for me. It is a reminder of Who He is, what He can do, and what He will do – not just today, or in the past – but for evermore. Yes. That is more than forever.

All of us (Christians included) have troubles. We have worries. We go through trials. We suffer tragedies. We lose those we love. We fail. We struggle. We cry. We need help. I think of all the times, when I have been at my lowest, there was only one thing that I could do… lift my eyes, and look to Jesus for help. Every single time, and I do mean every single time, He has lifted me up and restored me. I can assure you, it was not because of anything that I did or have done or promise to do… it is because He loves me.

When I was a child of about 12, after a week of helping with Vacation Bible School, the Lord revealed to me that I was a sinner. I became aware that my heart was as black as soot. By the world’s standards, I was a pretty good girl. I made good grades. I obeyed more often than not. I tried to be nice to everyone. I minded my manners, and respected my elders. I went to church with my grandparents a good bit. Could it really be that I was headed to hell? What little I knew about His Word told me that He is so very holy, so righteous, so just, so full of love, so merciful, and so perfect. Because of His perfection, when I died I would be judged by His standards with pure fairness, and therefore I was doomed. I had fallen way short. But wait… I knew about Jesus. I knew that He had died on the cross for sinners. I knew that He could save me. I could recite John 3:16 backwards and forwards. Was that really for a girl like me???

I told my Grammaw Daves what I was feeling. I told her that I needed to be saved. She was so very happy. She called Bro. Bert right away and the next thing I knew I was sitting in his office. I couldn’t understand her joy at the time, because I was so deeply convicted. I was scared and afraid that somehow I wouldn’t qualify. In my sadness and despair I listened as he took me down the “Romans Road.” With Bro. Bert’s help, all of a sudden I realized that “all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.” ALL. Even girls like me. I learned that every single thing I had done or will do was covered by the Blood of Jesus at Calvary. I finally understood that in a way that I never had before. So what did I do? I lifted my eyes to the only One who could help me. The only One who could save me. The only One who loved me that much. I asked Jesus to come into my heart and be my Lord and Savior. He saved me that very instant. Later, I professed my faith to the church, was baptized, and accepted into the church.

I wish I could say that from that moment on I have been obedient. I wish I could say that I never sin. I wish I could say that I didn’t go through times where I strayed from Him. What I can say, though, is that He has been faithful to me through it all. My place in Heaven is secure, and I love Jesus more and more the longer I live. I thank God for the valleys in my life, because those are what deepens my faith and makes the mountaintops so breathtaking! He promises that he “will never leave nor forsake us” (Hebrews 13:5) and that when we are weary, He will give us rest (Matthew 11:28). He has gone to prepare a place for us, and will receive us again, so that where He is, we can be also. (John 14:3)

God, in His infinite wisdom knows us. He knows how we are. He knows what we need. He knows that apart from Him we are doomed. He knew all of this before the foundation of time. He knew us before He knit us together in our mothers’ wombs. He provided for us His Son to take our sin upon Himself and save us. He loves us just that much! Imagine the cost. Imagine the anguish. Imagine the humility. The Son of God wrapped in flesh, was born of a virgin, lived a perfect and sinless life, healed the sick, raised the dead, fed the hungry and was obedient to His Father in all things. He, who could have called on the angels to whisk Him away, willingly lay down his perfect sinless life and took our sins on Himself and suffered our punishment so that we could be saved. The grave could not hold Him, though, and He rose again and is sitting at the right hand of the Father. Now, those who believe and call on His name to be their Lord and Savior will live eternally with Him… and best yet, He is coming again to set up His Kingdom for all time on a new earth… And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away. (Revelation 21:4)

When I am tired… I lift my eyes.

When I am weak… I lift my eyes.

When I am worried… I lift my eyes.

When I don’t know what to do… I lift my eyes.

When I am heartbroken… I lift my eyes.

Where does my Help come from? My help comes from the Lord. My help is the Lord.

Lift your eyes and call on Him today.

total praise

Leave a Reply

